Delany Ordered The Code Red!

Posted: December 14, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Dennis Dodd: *Commissioner Delany, did you design the new logo?*
Judge Scott Chipman: You *don’t* have to answer that question!
Delany: I’ll answer the question!
[to Dodd]
Delany: You want answers?
Dodd: I think I’m entitled.
Delany: *You want answers?*
Dodd: *I want the truth!*
Delany: *You can’t handle the truth!*
[pauses]
Delany: Son, we live in a world that has divisions, and those divisions have to be named by men with marketing degrees. Who’s gonna do it? You? You, Teddy Greenstein? I have a greater responsibility than you could possibly fathom. You weep for the old logo, and you curse the 12-team league. You have that luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what I know. That the old logo’s death, while tragic, probably saved lives. And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves lives. You don’t want the truth because deep down in places you don’t talk about at parties, you WANT me to design that logo, you NEED me to design that logo. We use words like leaders, legends and tradition. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something. You use them as a punchline. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a group of institutions who rise and sleep under the blanket of the very financial prosperity that I provide, and then QUESTIONS the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said thank you, and went on your way, Otherwise, I suggest you design a logo, and pick a couple of division names that can please 4 million alumni. Either way, I don’t give a damn what you think you are entitled to!
Dodd: Did you design the logo?
Delany: I did the job I…
Dodd: *DID YOU DESIGN THE LOGO?*
Delany: *YOU’RE GODDAMN RIGHT I DID!*

Leave a Reply

